Cincinnati SAR Compatriots Honored for Their Accomplishments

20181215-SAR-Sons-of-the-American-Revolution-Cincinnati-Ohio-Awards-01The Cincinnati SAR held their annual awards dinner on December 15th at Cincinnati University Club on the evening of December 15th. The Chapter had a very successful year and received the top three National Society Awards from President General Larry Guzy at the SAR National Congress that was held last July in Houston, Texas. This exceptional accomplishment was made possible by the many dedicated compatriots of the Cincinnati Chapter.

Cincinnati SAR President John H. Bredenfoerder recognized the many individual accomplishments of the chapter compatriots who made the national recognition possible. President Bredenfoerder presented the following awards to the Cincinnati Compatriots and their wives:

Perfect Attendance Certificates


George H. Stewart, Gary L. Duffield, Michael J. Blum
(Not Pictured John H. Bredenfoerder, Kenneth G. Carpenter)

Certificates of Appreciation


Shawn Cox
(Not Pictured Roger Fisher)

Ladies Certificates of Appreciation


Elizabeth Smith, Shari Wilkerson, Billie Bonniwell, Billie Andrews, Mary Ann Duffield, Janet Crandall, Mary Lou Knight, Karen Ballman, Christine Smith
(Not Pictured Emma Hartman)

SAR/DAR Appreciation Medal


Wanda Langdon

Martha Washington Medal


Carolyn Carpenter

Daughters of Liberty Medal
Laurie Bredenfoerder
Carole Gunn

Cincinnati Thomas Paine Award


George H. Stewart, Mike B. Gunn

Roger Sherman Medal



J. Preston Smith, Kerry L. Langdon, Jason Bourgeois, Clayton L. Crandall (Not Pictured: Larry W. Collins, Jacob S. Hartman, Jeffrey M. Hartman, Joshua B. Hartman, James H. Houston, Jr.,  Mark E. Idle, Bradley J. Jarard, Franz B. Ott II, Charles E. Rogers, Connor M. Smith, Scott E. Snow, George H. Stewart, Jr.)

Patriot Grave Marking Medal


R. Edgar Bonniwell (1 Bronze),  Turner Lee Wilkerson III (3 Bronze), Michael B. Gunn (1 Bronze, 1 Silver),  George H. Stewart (1 Bronze),  Michael J. Blum (1 Bronze) (Not Pictured: Robert E. R. Bowers (1 Bronze))

Bronze Color Guard Medal


Shaun P. Smith

Silver Color Guard Medal
Shaun P. Smith

Good Citizenship Medal


Kenneth G. Carpenter (Accepted by Carolyn Carpenter),  Shaun P. Smith, Gerald P. Knight, Michael B. Gunn, Zachary T. Haines (Not Pictured: Jesse W. Andrews, George Vincent)

LaFayette Medal

Michael J. Blum

Meritorious Service Medal


Clayton L. Crandall, R. Edgar Bonniwell, Kenny R. Burck, Gordon E. Stokely, Jr., Gregory D. Ballman (Not Pictured: Robert E. R. Bowers, Daniel S. Schmitz)

Distinguished Service Medal


Michael J. Blum

Distinguished Service Certificates



Donald C. McGraw, Jr., Turner Lee Wilkerson III, Michael B. Gunn, Jesse W. Andrews, Gary L. Duffield (Not Pictured: James D. Schaffer)


This entry was posted in Local Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply