Cincinnati SAR receives top awards at 2018 Ohio Society Meeting

The Cincinnati Chapter received many of the top awards at the recent Ohio Society SAR Annual Meeting in Dublin, Ohio. These awards are truly a testament to the dedication, hard work and commitment of the compatriots of this outstanding chapter.

Chapter awards received were the First Place Membership Award and the Distinguished Chapter Streamer. The chapter also received first place awards in three youth contest categories: The Americanism Elementary School Poster Contest; The Sgt. Moses Adams Memorial Middle School Brochure Contest; and The George S. & Stella M. Knight Essay Contest. These three entries will represent the Ohio Society in the corresponding national contests at the National SAR Congress that will be held in Houston, Texas this coming July. Congratulations to Cincinnati Committee Chairmen Dr. Ralph Edgar Bonniwell and Zachary T. Haines for your hard work, dedication and your committees’ winning entries!

Several outstanding Cincinnati compatriots also received Individual honors. These awards included:
Donald C. McGraw, Jr.
-The Samuel Hubbard Scott Laureate Award
-Past State President Distinguished Service Pin

John H. Bredenfoerder
-The Patriot Medal
-The Silver Color Guard Medal
-The Spirit of Volunteerism Certificate

Michael B. Gunn
-The State Meritorious Service Medal

Turner Lee Wilkerson III
-The Silver Roger Sherman Medal
-The Spirit of Volunteerism Certificate

Michael J. Blum
-The Silver Roger Sherman Medal

Kenneth G. Carpenter
-The Silver Color Guard Medal

James D. Schaffer
-The Distinguished Service Certificate
-The Spirit of Volunteerism Certificate

Paul M. Wilke
-The Distinguished Service Certificate

Franz B. Ott
-The Third Place Sponsorship Certificate

Clayton L. Crandall
-A Sergeant Commission in the Fort Laurens Regiment

Huzzah! Huzzah! Huzzah! Cincinnati!

This entry was posted in State Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply