Cincinnati Chapter SAR 2019 Independence Day Memorial

Michael B. Gunn, Ph.D.
Past President, Patriot Graves Chair CCSAR

Photos by Doug Blake and Paul Collette

The Cincinnati Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution held their Independence Day Memorial for 2019 at 2:00 PM July 6th, 2019 at the Spring Grove Cemetery & Arboretum Revolutionary War Soldier’s Memorial with sixteen members in attendance, the largest number since we established the memorial in 2014. The Revolutionary War Sites and Patriot Graves Committee and the Nolan Carson Memorial Color Guard plans and executes this memorial for the Cincinnati SAR Chapter.

This Memorial honors the 55 Revolutionary Patriots on these hallowed grounds:

Silas Howell, Stephen Wheeler, Jeremiah French, James Gowdy, Luther Halsey who will be singled out during the 2019 Ceremony and Benjamin Bassett,  Isaac Bates,  Jason Bushnell,  Christopher Cary,  Lucius Chapin,  Abraham Chase,I saac Drake, Abner Martin Dunn,  Robert Elliott, William Goforth, , Abner Hatch,  James Hathorn,  Fredrick Horne,  John H. Hudson, John Jackson, James Kemper, Peter Kemper, Richard Keys,  George Leibee,  James Lyon, John Ludlow, Alexander Oliver, John Riddle,  John Sellman, Elisha  Shepard, Philip Sloat, Oliver Spencer, Charles Vattier, David Wade, Christopher Walker,  Benjamin Wood, Ballard Smith, John Mills, Joshua Wyeth, Casper Hopple, James Irwin, Robert Orr, Oliver Martin, John Sloan Wallace, Edward Miller, Hezekiah Flint, Jesse Hunt, John Mercer, Amos White, Cornelius Sedam, Oliver Martin,  William Brown, Matthew Lawler, Spencer Cooper, Phillip Coke who are all honored.

In addition, on this special day we shall once again give remembrance to all those who risked to safeguard our liberties on and around the field of battle during the 240 years since the founding of these United States of America with this pledge: We, the members of the Cincinnati Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution Re- dedicate this marked Memorial to the glory of God and in the recognition of the memory of these honorable Patriots of the American Revolution and others in battles fought since.

The following members participated this year:  Lee Wilkerson, George H. Stewart, Jr., Shaun P. Smith, Charles Ernst Rogers, John Bradley Jarard, Gary L. Duffield, Clayton Lowell Crandall, Robert Edmund R. Bowers, Ralph E. Bonniwell, Michael J. Blum, Gregory D. Ballman, Robert Sturm, Larry W. Collins, Michael B. Gunn, Jim Houston and Douglas Blake.

This entry was posted in National SAR Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply