2017 Independence Day Patriot Grave Re-dedication

On Independence Day this year the Cincinnati Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution (CCSAR) returned to Spring Grover Cemetery to Re-dedicate the Bronze on Stone Memorial that honors the 59 Revolutionary Patriots buried on these hallowed grounds including these individuals:

Abraham Chase, Hezeekiah Flint, Casper Hopple, Jesse Hunt, James Erwin, Richard Keys, James Lyons, John Mercer, Robert Orr, Oliver Martin, William Todd, Amos White, John Slone Wallace, William Brown, Matthew Lawler, William Coke, Abner Martin Dunn, Spencer Cooper, William Goforth, Silas Howell, Edward Miller, John Mills, Ballard Smith and Stephen Wheeler.

  • Presentation of Colors: Nolan Carson Color Guard, Commander Brad Jarard


  • Pledge of Allegiance: Emmie Blum
  • Pledge to the SAR by members, led by: Jack Bredenfoerder
  • Invocation: Emcee Michael Gunn
  • Introduction and Welcome, Presentations: Emcee Michael B. Gunn, Graves Chairman
  • Re-Dedication of the Marker: Emcee Michael Gunn
  • Names of Patriots: Bob Bowers and Jim Houston
    Chiming the bell for each named Patriot of the 59 honored here
  • Presentation of Wreaths with Musket accompaniment
    • Presentation of Chapter Wreath: Jack Bredenfoerder Cincinnati Chapter President
    • Presentation of the Germany Society Wreath: Mike Blum


  • Flintlock Salute: Color Guard: Shaun Smith, Connor Smith, & Lee Wilkerson led by Brad Jarard
  • SAR Recessional: Michael Blum
  • Retiring the Colors in place Nolan Carson Color Guard
  • Benediction: Emcee Michael Gunn


This entry was posted in Local Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply